Vivaldi Cello Concertos

Cello Concerto in A minor, RV419 – II. Andante

Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
Akademie Für Alte Musik Berlin

Vivaldi Cello Concertos (2011)

Released by Harmonia Mundi

Vivaldi: Cello Concerto in A minor, RV419 – II. Andante

Alongside the famous Quattro Stagioni, La Notte, and so on, Vivaldi wrote no fewer than 27 concertos for the cello – an instrument which at the time was generally limited to playing basso continuo. With the genuine virtuose he had available to him at the Ospedale della Pietà, the Prete Rosso played a key role in the emancipation of the cello, which so readily stimulated him to invent varied figuration. The musicians of the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin have chosen to add highly expressive pieces by Caldara to punctuate the sumptuous feast of sound offered by maestro Queyras.

Official website