Schubert: Die Winterreise


Winterreise, D.911 – 1. Gute Nacht

From Schubert: Die Winterreise (2018)

Released by Harmonia Mundi

Schubert: Winterreise, D.911 – 1. Gute Nacht

Winterreise is at once the peak of the lieder repertory and Schubert’s testament. It guides the listener to distant landscapes, into the innermost depths of the human heart. For the singer, it is a mighty challenge – taken up here by Mark Padmore in a new interpretation, accompanied this time on the fortepiano by Kristian Bezuidenhout. This intense, distilled reading of Wilhelm Müller’s poetry resolutely turns its back on the traditions that usually hold sway in this area of the Romantic musical heritage.

Official Website