Schubert: Quintet D956

Heinrich Schiff, cello


Schubert: Quintet in C, D.956, II. Adagio
Alban Berg Quartet

From Schubert Quintet in C (1990)

Released by Angel Records

Schubert: Quintet D956

The String Quintet in C major, D 956, Op.163, was composed during the summer of 1828, two months before his death, and is Schubert’s final instrumental work.

I love the whole piece, but particularly the second Adagio movement, it is like an exchange of intimate confidences.