Haydn: Cello Concerto in C

Jian Wang, cello

Haydn: Cello Concerto in C, H.VIIb, No.1 – 1. Moderato

Gulbenkian Orchestra

From Haydn: Cello Concertos (1999)

Released by Deutsche Grammophon

Haydn: Cello Concerto in C

What can I say? If you have read my blog entry about Queen Elisabeth Musical Voyage, you know this is the Haydn concerto that has held me enraptured since I first heard Wang perform it, and it has held a constant spot in my record player since.

Wang played wonderfully, and made the piece so romantic and tender that the notes become a message of loving life.