Bach: Goldberg Variationen – Diego Ares


Goldberg Variations

From Bach: Goldberg Variationen – Diego Ares (2018)

Released by Harmonia Mundi

Bach: Goldberg Variations – Aria

In the thirty-two movements that make up the Goldberg Variations, Bach offers us a perfect equilibrium between structure, proportion, counterpoint and melody. Diego Ares, for whom this remarkable work has been a lifelong inspiration, sees the key to it in the notion of travel: a moving trip to different environments, enriched by new experiences in the course of the variations, the last of which (the Quodlibet) marks the composer’s salutary return home. A profound and humanistic message and an angle from which the Variations have rarely been approached before.

Official Website