EŠENVALDS, Ē.: Choral Music (The Doors of Heaven)


The First Tears

From EŠENVALDS, Ē.: Choral Music (The Doors of Heaven) (2017)

Released by Naxos

Ešenvalds: The First Tears

The Latvian composer Ēriks Ešenvalds has rapidly become one of the world’s most performed choral composers. His ability to bring a dramatic text to life through textures that are lush yet permeated with a more stringent and angular aesthetic has ensured a steady stream of commissions from leading orchestras and choral forces. The four works here reflect an interest in the beauty of nature, religious faith and legend. The First Tears explores an Inuit story and employs subtle instrumental colouration from jaw harps and Native American flutes, whilst Passion and Resurrection is a profound and powerful exploration of Christ’s death and Resurrection.

Official Website