Schubert : Willkommen und Abschied

Wandrers Nachtlied D224

Werner Gűra, tenor
Christoph Berner, fortepiano

From Schubert : Willkommen und Abschied (2012)

Released by Harmonia Mundi

Schubert: Wandrers Nachtlied D224

Placed under the aegis of Goethe’s poem Willkommen und Abschied (Greeting and parting), the lieders that make up this programme are emblematic of Romantic feeling as it is displayed throughout Schubert’s output: the subject, a traveller in search of meaning and a feeling of oneness with nature, asks himself all his life what place he occupies in the world. To this deeply existential question, the consciousness of the roaming Wanderer can see only one answer, steeped in the atmosphere of Sturm und Drang: ‘I am a stranger everywhere.’

Official website