Medtner – Complete Piano Sonatas 1

Piano Sonata in F minor, Op. 5
I. Allegro

Paul Stewart, piano

From Medtner – Complete Piano Sonatas 1 (2012)

Released by Naxos

Medter: Piano Sonata in F minor, Op. 5 – I. Allegro

Like his near-contemporary Rachmaninov, who called him ‘the greatest composer of our time’, Nikolay Medtner was a composer, pianist and an exile from his native Russia. His portfolio of works includes a remarkable series of pieces for his own instrument, including 14 sonatas and some hugely evocative, deeply poetic miniatures. Medtner’s gift for melody is immediately discerned in the early Sonatina in G minor. The Sonata No 1, Op 5, his first large-scale work, enshrines autobiographical elements and is both intense and spiritually charged. Poetry and nostalgia flood the beautiful Sonata-Reminiscenza in A minor. This is the first volume of a complete cycle of the Medtner Piano Sonatas.

More about Medtner (1880-1951)

“Inspiration comes when thought is saturated in emotion, and emotion is imbued with sense” (Nikolay Medtner)

Official website