Poulenc: L’invitation au château

L’ Invitation Au Chateau: IX. Act III, Tango
James Campbell, clarinet
Peter Carter, violin
John York, piano
Jacky Guter, vocal
Joanna Elias, vocal

From Maurice Ravel / Francis Poulenc: Chamber Music for Woodwinds (2006)

Released by Cala

Poulenc: L’invitation au château

Francis Poulenc was commissioned to write incidental music for plays and films, and among those,  L’invitation au château for the play of the same name by the famous French playwright Jean Anouih.

This is a beautiful, sensual piece,  Tango with a French twist.