Events Competitions
Monte-Carlo Masters

violin masters 2016

Official Website

Category: Violin
Date: September 14 to 17, 2016
Country: Monaco

Founded in 1989 by Jean-Marie Fournier, the owner of Salle Gaveau in Paris, the competition is famous for its strict awarding criteria. First held in Nice, the event later moved to Monaco in 1992. Featuring three categories, piano, violin and voice, competition rounds are held rapidly in succession with only one single prize awarded- namely the Prince Rainier III Prize. Contestants must have the history of being finalists of at least one international competition previously, hence making the Monte-Carlo competition an assembly of the world’s best musicians competing for the first place. Amongst the jury panel which normally consists of musicians, festival directors and critics, there also sits one non-professional voter representing the public- thus contributing to the event’s uniqueness. Past laureates include Giovanni Bellucci, Maurizio Baglini, Vardan Mamikonian and many more notable names of our time.

More Competitions